Laws of Morals as of Botany: Emerson

“I have confidence in the laws of morals as of botany. I have planted maize in my field every June for seventeen years and I never knew it come up strychnine. My parsley, beet, turnip, carrot, buck-thorn, chestnut, acorn, are as sure. I believe that justice produces justice, and injustice injustice.”

from Ralph Waldo Emerson’s 1852 journal entry

 

About Laura Grace Weldon

Laura Grace Weldon is the author of four books and served as 2019 Ohio Poet of the Year. She's the editor of Braided Way: Faces & Voices of Spiritual Practice. She works as a book editor, teaches writing workshops, and maxes out her library card each week.
This entry was posted in quotes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Laws of Morals as of Botany: Emerson

  1. katechiconi says:

    … and I never knew ingrained oppression, intolerance and persecution to produce a contented, peaceful and prosperous nation.

Leave a comment