Eat The Raspberries

My oldest and his wife offered freshly harvested raspberries. My next oldest went over to pick them up and drop them here. Eight pints of beautiful berries!

Although I power through lot of vegetables, I almost never eat fruit. Sometimes a few blueberries, if we have plenty. But I put some of these raspberries in a bowl to enjoy. As I ate I wondered why I felt so strange about this luxury. Even guilty. Then I remembered why.

Fresh fruit is expensive. For years I’d stretch the budget to buy fruit in season for my children. If my kids wanted me to have some I’d tell them I already had some. (I did, one or two berries.) Even fruit we grew was a treasure to be shared between four kids. After all these years I developed an ingrained “save the fruit” thing. When this came up in a discussion, my wise friend Diane pointed out, “How great it is that your kids are bringing your gifts back to you.”

I went back and put a whole pint of raspberries in a lovely blue bowl, then savored each one. They were delicious.

About Laura Grace Weldon

Laura Grace Weldon is the author of four books and served as 2019 Ohio Poet of the Year. She's the editor of Braided Way: Faces & Voices of Spiritual Practice. She works as a book editor, teaches writing workshops, and maxes out her library card each week.
This entry was posted in eating, summer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Eat The Raspberries

  1. katechiconi says:

    Although we are not short of fruit here, I find myself always giving the Husband the first choice of any we have, and if we run out, he gets the last mango, passionfruit, banana, etc. The way I see it, he’s the one who works hard to earn the money, he gets the sweetness to balance it. Plus, and this is self-preservation, if I ate all the fruit I wanted, I’d be the size of a house, especially in mango season!

Leave a comment